Friendship When It Matters Most

Thought Catalog

ShutterstockShutterstock

A few weeks ago, as I walked home from work, I received a phone call. It was from my mother, who was calling to tell me that my grandmother had lung cancer. As I got closer and closer to my front door, as I was trying and failing to process this news, I very much looked forward to being greeted by my roommate and best friend who’d be there waiting for me. She would help me process this news. We’ve earned through the years, the good times and the bad, a knowing, silent warmth with each other. A warmth that I knew, as I trekked home in the bitter cold, would wash over me and make me feel better as soon as I walked in. A warmth that I knew would allow me to dump out all of my emotions, allow me to just lay them all out there…

View original post 798 more words

Leave a Reply

