I Cannot Promise You Forever, But I Can Promise I’ll Try

Thought Catalog

I can promise that I will kiss you every day that I love you, because your lips are so sweet and subtly tangy to me. But I can’t promise that I will love you every day – that your lips won’t someday become bland to me.

I can promise you that when you get home from work, when I can smell exhaustion on your skin and see it in your eyes, I won’t make you walk the dog. And I won’t make you cook, though I can promise you that I won’t subject you to my cooking, unless you’re okay with a grilled cheese sandwich — I make a mean grilled cheese. But I can’t promise that when you change out of your work clothes, when you nestle in the fleece blanket on the couch in the living room and put on The Bachelorette that I won’t sneak into the…

View original post 499 more words

Leave a Reply

